Poipu Beach Kauai Ocean View Rental Home and Cottages

Hale Pohaku Reviews

 

“Perfect for large group seeking casual hospitality”

(April 2011) We just returned to Australia after a 3 week holiday in Kauai. We stayed at Hale Pohaku with 2 sets of grandparents, and 2 young families, each with three children. So in total we were a party of 14. The two young families stayed in the Manager's Residence, one set of grandparents stayed in the studio attached and the other set of grandparents stayed in the Rose Cottage. We could not have found better accommodation if we had TRIED!! It really did suit us to a tee. The manager's residence was so spacious and very much fulfilled our needs as such a large group. Both families had their own bathroom and the kitchen was fun to prepare meals in! My parents LOVED their space in the Rose Cottage and my partner's parents also really liked their space in the studio.
The pool was really terrific (sure it collected some leaves and flowers over time but that didn't bother us at all) and the short stroll to the beach was absolutely wonderful for the kids. Also just a short stroll to Brennecke's Broiler which has terrific ambience and good food.
Being pretty laid back and not into fine linens and crockery, the lack of Egyptian sheets was not an issue. The sheets were soft and clean and lovely to sleep on and there were pots and pans of various shapes/sizes.
If we ever return to Kauai, I will not hesitate to stay here again. Thanks Richard, you were easy to deal with and we loved that you didn't get in our space at all!! Aloha!
Room Tip: The Rose Cottage is nicest!

“Fantastic place to stay with groups and families.”

(January 2011) We thought Hale Pohaku was perfect for what we needed. The purpose of our trip was to attend a beautiful family wedding. We had people arriving from all over the world, and Hale Pohaku was a great place for us all to meet and stay together.
It's not a 5 star resort, but that wasn't what we wanted. The rooms were large, ammenities were perfect for a beach getaway, and the pool and grounds were clean and well looked after. The beds were comfortable and the cottages had plenty of air circulation.
We travelled with our 7 month old son and had no worries at all. The kitchen was fantastic for preparing meals for the family and there was plenty of space to all eat together.
If you are looking for a relaxed, beach atmosphere, close to the water, then I would recommend staying at Hale Pohaku.

“Perfect for a large group”

(October 2010) Hale Pohaku was a wonderful experience. While it was not a 5-star experience, it is not meant to be. It is a place for a large group that wants comfortable accommodations, able to socialize altogether in one place, and very close to the beach. The cottages are minimally decorated but spacious and clean. They are typical beach cottages/bungalows. More than sufficient for a relaxing vacation. Beds are very comfortable. Each cottage has at least one bathroom and the main house has 3! There is a small pool in the middle of the complex which we used daily and the beach is less than a five minute walk. I would definitely return to Hale Pohaku. Just an FYI - the cottages each have a kitchen but they are minimally stocked so if you are planning to cook for a large group of people, perhaps stop at Walmart on the way to pick up disposable cookware and cutlery. There are also four outdoor BBQ grills on the property.

“Our stay at Hale Pohaku could NOT have been any better!”

(October 2010) Our daughter got married on Kauai last October and located Hale Pohaku for the entire wedding party, plus parents and siblings of the bride and groom to stay. It was awesome! The main house was huge and perfect for our "after-Party / dinner which included about 45 guests. The party went into the wee hours of the morning, but those of us who couldn't make it that long were able to go to our separate cottages and noise was NOT an issue. The bride is from Texas, the groom from Australia, Hawaii was the chosen location since it's about the mid-way point. This celebration was a once in a lifetime occasion where the Texans meet the Aussies, and I don't think there could possibly have been a better location for this to happen than Hale Pohaku. The rooms and cottages were great!, the location was a short walk from the beach, the pool was VERY nice, and the lawn was spectacular for partying and for the young children that were in attendance. I would HIGHLY recommend Hale Pohaku for anyone looking for a place to house/entertain a large number of people. Who knows, maybe we'll all go back for a reunion on their 5th wedding anniversary!

“Hale Pohaku was absolutely perfect for our wedding party!”

(October 2010) We rented out the entire complex for the nights around our wedding - there was my husband and I, both our parents and siblings families plus all our bridesmaids and groomsmen. This totalled to 26 adults and 3 little boys! We searched endlessly for accomodation that would suit all of us, and I am so happy we chose Hale Pohaku. I am from Texas and my husband from Sydney, Australia; we wanted our closest friends and family to stay in one place to meet each other and have a chance to get to know each other. All of our party seemed very pleased, and the property was just about what I expected.
There was an issue that a few of the keys were not in the lock boxes, and we needed some additional furniture for the kiddos. I called Richard, the manager, and he turned up within a few minutes and took care of it. He was friendly and polite, and I felt comfortable that he would take care of us should there be any further issues during our stay. We had no more issues.
The rooms were clean and laid out very well. The houses were SO much bigger than we expected, which was great because all our friends felt like they had more privacy than I had prepared them for. The property is by no means 5-star - but the beds were comfortable, everything was clean, plus the gardens and property as a whole had a lot more character than the websites give it credit for. Plus the property was relatively enclosed, so we didn't worry at all about noise, privacy or the kids running off . . .we were in our own little commune, it was exactly what we wanted.
The location is AMAZING there is a beautiful but rough beach a couple of yards away, and a little convenience store which was well used by our guests. Just a few seconds away was Poipu Beach park with calmer waters and good snorkling. A few yardsin the opposite direction of the ocean was a sports bar with excellent happy hour specials. As for amenities, the kitchens were moderately stocked and the beach gear was well used but fit for purpose - we didn't need or even want anything that wasn't there. Also the basics: lots of towels, toilet paper and an added bonus the washing machine worked well. The decor is cute and the seabreeze came throughout all thehouses/lawns perfectly. The pool was great - clean, cool, and bigger than many residential pools which was nice. The kitchen in the managers house was huge and had so much counter space . . .which was perfect because we wanted everyone to eat together. We spent most of our time at the property on the managers porch with some cold drinks and good music. My only complaint were the stray cats; however, we saw them eating through all the trash cans in the area, so there is simply not much anyone can do about them.
Overall Hale Pohaku was a perfect experience for our wedding vacation, and many of our guests agreed the setting could not have been better.

“Flawless Destination Wedding”

(September 2010) We stayed at Hale Pohaku from September 15 through the 22nd, 2010 and hosted our daughter's destination wedding. There were 45 guests attending the wedding and about 25 people stayed on the premises. The wedding was held on the property including the ceremony, dinner under a tent, the DJ and dance floor, and a well-stocked bar. We rented the entire property for our stay.
The house and cottages were well-appointed, comfortable, and well-cleaned. Our only recommendation for improvement is that the furnishings were somewhat dated and could use updating. However, it is Hawaii and we spent very little time outside of meals and sleeping inside. The house and cottages all had fully equipped kitchens, barbecues outside and plenty of space for large gatherings. The pool was clean, well-maintained, and provided a central gathering place in the evenings.
The staff, Richard and Summer, were unbelievably accommodating. We planned a wedding from 6,000 miles away and they were instrumental in its success. Richard found the best caterer at very reasonable prices and arranged our reception from start to finish. He also recommended a top-notch DJ and florist, also very reasonably priced for the service we received. We can't thank Richard enough for his help during this potentially stressful event. Everything went off without a hitch and Richard responded to every request we made, before, during, and after our stay. Even our daughter said, "I can't imagine my wedding having gone any better."
I can only make judgement based on my experiences here, and my experience were first-rate. I highly recommend Hale Pohaku! Should we return to Kauai it will be our first choice for accommodations.
Thank you Richard and Summer!

“We love this place!”

(June 2010) We have taken our extended family to Hale Pohaku on three occasions in the past, and will be returning next June. There is nothing like it in Poipu. The location, 1/2 block from Brenneke's Beach is unbeatable. The Hale Pohaku website gives a good idea of the accommodations, which are clean, pleasant, and well maintained. The fact that the property is enclosed makes it ideal for toddlers and young children. Additionally, the pool (which is a rarity in Poipu), is a real plus, particularly with the children, allowing for extended water play away from the Beach. The owners/managers, Summer and Richard, have always been most pleasant to deal with and have been most attentive to any needs which have arisen.

“A great family vacation!”

(April 2010) We just spent the last two weeks at Hale Pohaku with 26 family members including 13 kids under 14, and it was great. The location is perfect, 1 minute to the beach, and the pool was a huge hit with the kids. The manager, Richard, was excellent at responding to our concerns and the only reason the sleep quality was only excellent was the roosters!
For a large gathering such as ours, the privacy, with the yard space and the pool made the trip extra enjoyable.
Thanks again Summer and Richard!

Holding your Kauai wedding at Hale Pohaku

Business Meeting Site with Full Event Planning Services

The Manager's Home

Poipu vacation house sleeps 12

The Jungle Cottage (A)

Poipu cottage with 2 bedrooms/1 bath

The Orchid Cottage (B)

Poipu vacation cottage with 2 bedrooms/1 bath

The Beach Rose Cottage (C)

Poipu vacation rental with 2 bedrooms/1 bath

The Studio Suite

Studio vacation rental with full kitchen

 

Home || The Manager's Home || The Jungle Cottage || The Orchid Cottage
The Beach Rose Cottage || The Studio Suite || Weddings and Family Reunions
Business Meeting and Event Site || Terms and Conditions || Driving Directions

Hale Pohaku Reviews || The Owner's Favorite Links || About Us

Hale Pohaku
Call 1-866-742-6462
2231 Pane Rd.
Koloa, HI 96756
Email us

Site Design Hawaii Web